NYFW: FW2011

My top ten favourite collections from New York fashion week. I chose six stand out looks from each collection as shown under the cut below.

Jason Wu

A nice surprise! The details are subtle and feminine which makes the clothes very wearable and eye catching.

______________________________________________________________

Jill Stuart

My unconditional love for owls made this an instant hit. The colours are perfect for autumn and the prints are modern and interesting. I also love the bold block colour dresses towards the end of the collection.

______________________________________________________________

Marchesa

I know it’s more or less the same thing every season but it was too beautiful not to post. I love the symmetry around the necklines and the cut out shapes.

______________________________________________________________

Marc Jacobs

I often find his collections to be overrated, but I really enjoyed this one! It was mostly a dotty affair with black polka dots of various sizes on bold blocks of colour. I’ve always loved polka dots so it automatically was a winner from that point of view. More interesting though, was his use of lace and floral shape patterns.

______________________________________________________________

Oscar de la Renta

I wouldn’t wear much of it personally, but for a slightly older woman I think it would be a perfect fit.

______________________________________________________________

Preen

This collection really caught my eye due to the amazing prints, colours and shapes! I think this collection is one of the more successful using geometrical shapes.

______________________________________________________________

Rag & Bone

So effortless and hip as usual. I get a punk vibe from the more colourful pieces with reds, blue, black, block shapes and plaid.

______________________________________________________________

Ralph Lauren

I’m posting this because it perfectly conveys the brand. It’s nothing new or exciting but it is elegant and glamourous.

______________________________________________________________

Rodarte

I’m glad the Mulleavy sisters are trying new things. If I’m honest I was getting bored of the delicate knits and studded shoes they were creating a few seasons back. This collection still keeps some of the Rodarte characteristics (wrapping and piecing of the material) with the geometric shapes that were present in their spring/summer collection, but the patterns and coats are new additions. The collection has a countryside/farming theme which works well with the 3/4 length skirts and gathered coats/blazers.

______________________________________________________________

Threeasfour

This collection reminds me of spirographs, musical instruments, DNA, muscles and coral which is not a bad thing at all.

This entry was posted in Fashion, NYFW and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NYFW: FW2011

  1. shannon says:

    I think most everything looks ugly but I do like the bottom right dress from Oscar de la Renta.

Leave a Reply

