Fall/Winter 2011: London highlights

I enjoyed the London shows the most this season. There was so much good use of colour and prints. Below are 6 favourite looks from 10 collections which impressed me.

1. Christopher Kane

While I’m not sold on the plastic look of the waves, I loved the concept and the latter, mermaid-esque looks.

2. Erdem

Always a favourite in terms of interesting prints. I fell in love instantly with these vibrant splatter, grungey fabrics which remind me of decay.

3. Dries Van Noten

I wasn’t fussed about this collection at first, but it’s really grown on me. I love how experimental the clothes are and the way the patterns are juxtaposed.

4.Giles

Some of the patterns reminded me of stained glass windows and also William Morris designs. The rest of the collection had hints of a darker sexual side with black, bondage-esque materials and plentiful feathers.

5. Julien Macdonald

While it really reminded me of some McQueen designs, I can’t deny this was a consistent and coherent collection with some lovely pieces.

6.Mary Katrantzou

Because who can resist a good gimmick? This time, the inspiration appears to have come from beautiful objects which are placed in the extravagant home from the past. In particular, I see a lot of ceramic patterns used on the designs with the lampshade shape skirts reminding me of teacups or perhaps vases.

7. Meadham Kirchhoff

For some reason these clothes reminded me of both school uniforms and The Worst Witch.

8. Peter Pilotto

I like it when a collection makes you pay attention to the designer(s) behind it and this was such a collection! The use of fabrics and colour feels fresh and effortless.

9. Jonathan Saunders

Surprisingly this was my favourite collection of the week! I think it was the most successful using interesting prints and the colour palette was amazing.

10. Marios Schwab

Another designer I’ve started paying more attention to recently. Using one or two colours the dresses appear simple, almost minimalist, yet on closer inspection there are some unusual details.

This entry was posted in Designers and Brands, Fall 2011 RTW, Fashion, LFW, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

