Spelling and Grammar

I’m not a Grammar Nazi and I’m aware everyone makes mistakes now and then. It is also understandable for those who speak English as their second or third language to have difficulty writing.

However, it is beginning to disturb me the number of basic grammatical mistakes I see within the workplace and also on the internet. For example:

  • APOSTROPHE USAGE: e.g. “your” and “you’re”
  • TENSE: “I use to” is not correct
  • INCORRECT WORD: e.g. using “then” instead of “than”
  • SENTENCE STRUCTURE: i.e. I don’t want to read a ridiculously long winded sentence that goes on for days especially without commas because you know I’ve lost the plot by then and so have you.

Also, I recently heard about this ridiculous news. If not corrected how will anybody learn where they have gone wrong? I see a number of spelling mistakes daily and there really is no excuse in the age of spell check.

In terms of business, these errors don’t matter so much for internal communication, but can greatly influence a client. Not only does it appear unprofessional, it questions the competence of the company and shows a lack of attention to detail.

Additionally, there are some people with writing degrees who make these mistakes on a regular basis. I don’t care how good your ideas are because I can’t ignore your (note: not “you’re” because “you are” would not make sense here would it?) grammatical errors or fundamental lack of good sentence structure.

I am not brilliant at writing but I enjoy it. The English language is complex with many subtleties, there is a certain satisfaction in composing the perfect sentence. I wish more people felt the same.

This entry was posted in Business and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

